Trip Of A Lifetime – Ideas?..

I have recently been extremely excited because I found out that I will be able to take part in a once in a lifetime trip with my school in the summer of 2016. I have always wanted to fly out to a developing country and help build a well or help with the community ever since I can remember and our school have arranged a trip to allow me to do just that – and more!!

We will be going to Borneo in South East Asia and spend 5 days with a community helping out, rebuilding weak buildings, helping the local children and playing them also, as well as climbing the mighty Mount Kinabalu the highest peak in South East Asia which I am extremely excited about as we get to the summit when the sun is rising so it will be one of the most beautiful things I will ever see!! On top of that on our itinerary is trekking in the jungle and staying on the TAR islands. This is seriously the trip of a lifetime and I am so lucky that I have the chance to participate.

The only problem is the cost – £3000. It would be cruel to ask my parents to give me this amount of money so I have decided that I will raise the money to go all by myself. That is where I need ideas! I have a part time job collecting children from school and looking after them however this money will definitely not meet the amount that i need to raise in 16 months, I won’t even raise half of the amount from that job!!

When I go to Borneo I think I will enjoy the experience much more if I have earned and raised the money to go rather than just receiving it from my parents like some people are, so I will need to fundraise. (Something I have never done before in my life!) If i am totally honest – I am really stuck for ideas. Fundraising is really difficult to pull off and I am worried that I won’t be able to raise the money and I don’t want my parents to have to bail me out and pay the funds after I have said that I will raise the money myself. I think that I will try and hold a bake saleat my church and possible hold a raffle at school or something but we have a lot of people all trying to raise the money to go so fundraising at school isn’t that easy!! Fundraising is much harder than I first thought.

Crowdfunding has also come into my consideration because I think it will be very difficult to raise the whole amount through fundraising – however I really don’t understand how crowdfunding works and I am not sure if it is something to be used for projects such as mine. I don’t even know how to get myself involved with sites such as indiegogo and even then I am not sure if it would be reliable because if I didn’t reach the goal I wouldn’t receive any of the money pledged!

I have some money in savings which I would be happy to put towards it and I was also thinking of washing the teachers cars at school. At the moment it is very early days and I really need to work out what I can do in order to achieve my very hard goal – I really hope I will be able to raise the money as I think it will make me appreciate things more and make me a better person from it.

If anybody has any fundraising experience or has any ideas to raise money I would be very grateful.

Anyways,

I’m off, Beth x

28 thoughts on “Trip Of A Lifetime – Ideas?..

  1. I don’t know exactly how helpful it would be in the long run, but something I do to get money is pet sitting- I go to peoples’ houses when they are out of town and feed and/or walk their pet however often they want me to. It’s a really easy job, and you can get some good money from it if you get enough clients. You could also simply put up posters around the neighborhood for dog walking (for when people don’t have time to walk their dog or just don’t feel like doing it sometimes), or you could babysit. Obviously you’d need to be ok with animals (and kids for babysittin), but if you get good clients you can earn a lot of money. Hope this helps!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You might want to sell some old books that you no longer need or read. Also if they give money for recycling cans and bottles where you are, you might want to try that.

    Like

  3. Bake lots and lots of cakes. Go to your nearby town/ mall and sell them. Trust me, you dont realise how much youd actually get, youd be suprised.
    Another thing, sell all of your unwanted things from your room which youd think that you would never use again on top sites like madbid.com or ebay etc. hope this helps 😚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Is the money needed for the trip just for you or as a group contribution? I’ve never heard of fundraising for a trip like this before! I guess you learn something new at every blog post.

    I reckon your best bet is through working rather than fundraising in the traditional ways. I’m sure you’ve googled “jobs for younger people” before haha (or is it just me?). If the worst comes to the worst then you’ve always got Adsense? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s awesome that you’re going on a trip like that! I’m sure you’re going to experience some amazing things. As far as raising money, bake sale is always a great idea which has already been mentioned. Doing an online campaign is always a great idea as well, I’ve had friends who have just received anonymous donations of large sums of money. You never know what you may get. Good luck!

    Like

  6. Wow Beth! That sounds so exciting 🙂
    Perhaps Mum and Dad wouldn’t mind holding a garage sale. It would kill two birds with one stone; get rid of things around the house that both you and they no longer need, and also provide some more funds for your trip without too much stress. Best of luck! God bless 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ask a local Lions Club if they can help with a contribution; it’s the kind of thing many Lions Clubs will back. My 11+ years as a volunteer in Romania began with a £100 contribution to living expenses from my local Lions Club. Doubling what you raise yourself, up to a certain limit, might appeal to them.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Just a thought: remember my blog on wrapping with fabric-furoshiki? It is really easy and very spectacular. Teach yourself how to do it, source large amounts of pretty but cheap fabric from some charity shops( chop up some old shirts, dresses, curtains, skirts). Go and talk to a local shop’s manager, explain why are you raising money and offer to be down at the shop every Saturday and wrap the presents customers buy for a donation. The customer will get an amazing wrap, the shop will stand out for this special service, you will raise some money- everybody wins!
    Good luck! Gabi

    Like

  9. Just a thought: remember my blog on wrapping with fabric-furoshiki? It is really easy and very spectacular. Teach yourself how to do it, source large amounts of pretty but cheap fabric from some charity shops( chop up some old shirts, dresses, curtains, skirts). Go and talk to a local shop’s manager, explain why are you raising money and offer to be down at the shop every Saturday and wrap the presents customers buy for a donation. The customer will get an amazing wrap, the shop will stand out for this special service, you will raise some money- everybody wins!
    Good luck! http://youtu.be/yebX9W2HWYk

    Like

  10. When I was your age (OMG I feel so old saying that), I had to raise $2,000 for a mission trip. I don’t know if this will be mission related at all, probably not since it’s for school. But one thing that I did that was great was give a speech at church. I convinced our pastor to let me speak about all that I would be doing, and take up an offering. I was also able to guest speak at two other churches and do the same thing. Maybe if you can’t do that at church, there is a local group that does some of the same sort of work you’ll be doing- they may want to sponsor you if you give a speech.

    I also wrote letters to family, friends of the family, etc. I would get permission from your parents for this, because some might be embarrassed by it. I explained how excited I was for the opportunity, all of the good it would do, and how excited I was to tell them about it. I asked for prayers and travel tips. I then mentioned that I was fundraising to pay for it, and that anything they wanted to give would be wonderful. Try to emphasize that you by no means expect them to give, but just wanted to let them know your plans. Definitely bring up that you’re saving for the trip around your birthday and other holidays as well.

    Ask your school if any of the money contributed might be tax deductible, since it involves charity work. If so, it could save anyone who donates to you on tax money, and they’ll be more willing to give.

    Just my ideas 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

