An Eye Opener..

Walking is really not something that I do but recently I have realised that when you need a walk – it is really relaxing and makes you feel good on the inside.

Now the last time that I went for a walk on my own I couldn’t even tell you. I never walk, especially not by myself – but the other day I had been stuck in the house on my own all day studying (for the exams I have just done) and none of my friends would come out because they were studying. I felt that I had done enough work so i started procrastinating and after an hour or so I was bored, none of my friends would go out with me and my family were busy so I decided to take a walk by myself. The sun was starting to go down so I decided to walk down to the beach and take my camera for company. (not the beach I talked about in a recent post) The big beach that has a beautiful promenade and lots of pebbles and stunning scenery and in the summer is buzzing with excited kids throwing rocks into the sea and smothering ice creams all over their faces.

On the walk down to the beach, I didn’t have my music in, I wasn’t texting people on my phone – I just took the time to walk by myself and think. I didn’t really have anything to think about but I was just wandering on my own and I felt so peaceful every step I took just seemed slow and steady and for once I actually enjoyed walking!! What normally would have seemed like a trek and a very tiring walk turned out very enjoyable. Before I knew it I was at the front leaning on the railings overlooking the calm lapping waves against the pebbles down below.

It was about 6pm on a Sunday evening so there weren’t loads of people about – I could see dog walkers beneath me throwing balls to their dogs and a few people walked past me as I was standing looking out to the ocean. It was a very crisp evening – cold but not raining which I love, I love being able to see my warm breath in the cold air and feel the tingling in my nose as the cold numbs it. I Here in the UK the weather that we are getting a the moment is perfect. It isn’t raining much, it is just icy cold and that is just how I like it. I personally hate, hate, hate the rain- I hate ruining any shoes that I wear outside when its wet,  I hate walking to school in the rain and being damp for the rest of the day and of course the worst possible thing about the rain – when the bottom of your jeans get wet and stay wet for what seems like an eternity. That is why I love this icy cold weather – You can still go outside with loads of layers and feel nice and cozy. I can still walk to school and be compfortable (even if slightly cold) when I get there and I can look out of the window and actually see the sun most days.

That walk really opened my eyes, I realised that sometimes you can do things on your own. Normally I would have been terrified to walk all the way down to the beach in the dark – I never go anywhere in the dark!! But strangely i felt safe. I knew that I had a phone in my pocket and there were plenty of people walking around, so I wasn’t scared. I felt peaceful and glad that I went. I would never have gone for that walk if I really hadn’t needed some fresh air but i really enjoyed it and I am happy I did.

I had never actually been down to the promenade at this time of year in the dark – its beautiful. All old fashioned street lights lining the walkway above the beach with pretty multicoloured fairy lights connecting them. I couldn’t believe how peaceful I felt down there. Even though it was freezing cold – I didn’t feel cold, I felt a warm happy feeling that will stay with me for a long time. I must remember to do more things that I want to do – even if that means doing them on my own sometimes.

IMG_0976

Anyways, I’m off.

Beth x

19 thoughts on “An Eye Opener..

  1. This semester at uni I was feeling pretty stressed, and one morning I woke up around 6am for no reason. So I decided to go for a walk. I got to watch the sunrise, and campus was completely quiet and serene. I love walking and just talking to God. I wish I had a beach to walk on!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Beth! You came and checked out my blog about two weeks ago, and left a nice comment and asked me to check out yours. Well, its been nagging at me because I never did before today, but I’m sorry I didn’t come sooner! Great blog and I love this post! I’ve totally been in that all-studied-out position, and a walk in the cool air always helps me feel better. 🙂
    Thanks for checking out my blog and inviting me to yours!
    Emma

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You left a comment on my blog a few weeks ago to look at your blog if I got the chance and I’m glad I did! I love how your blog looks and we’re similar in age and we live in the same country 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

