A Friend 3833 Miles Away..

Now, If you asked me just over a year ago if I would ever talk to somebody on the internet I would have said “No way” – Too many bad things happen to people who have friendships and relationships online. I still think that now, and even though I have the story I am about to share I would never speak to anyone online again – I think I got lucky!

So here goes; At one point last year I was insanely obsessed with a so called “celebrity” Sam Pepper (this is no longer the case but that is for a blog another time) and I heard that he was doing a tour in the US. Therefore I searched the hashtag ‘WDGAF’ (The name of their tour) and watched some videos of them up on the stage and photos of them doing their thing. I then went onto the meet and greet photos and after scrolling through I found a photo of a girl who met both Sam and Maz. I was so jealous that I commented saying just that. And to my astonishment she replied. That was the first time (and probably the last) that I had ever made contact with a stranger online. It was weird but intriguing at the same time – We chatted on twitter for a while and I really enjoyed talking to her but I suddenly remembered the inappropriate responses that could happen having watched the series ‘Catfish’ and reading stories on the news and asked to Skype – so that I knew it was her. And to my luck – it was!!

Ever since then, we haven’t stopped talking. That one first Skype call may have been slightly awkward but hey, how can it not be awkward when two strangers are talking for the first time!? After that ‘1st call’ when I knew that she was ‘a real person’ (to my relief) we chatted for hours on end about life in two different worlds as it seemed. At first life in the UK seemed so different to life in the US but as I got to know her that wasn’t the case. We may have differences – I am tall, she is short// I use pounds, she uses dollars// I call it ready meal, she calls it ‘TV dinner’ (still can’t get over that one) but when I think about it – we are no different, both teenage girls living their lives.. just living 3833 miles apart.

Sometimes I like the fact that we live so far away from each other – The ‘late night’ Skype calls for me to the ‘early morning’ Skype calls for her. The Skype calls that go on for 3 hours and it feels nothing like that! I also love sending her letters, with Facebook and Skype these days there is no need to send letters but Amy and I have definitely found it fun – especially if it arrives with foreign ‘candy’ as she calls it. It is so exciting. It is crazy to think that even though we have never met in person – we have known each other for nearly a year now – The first time I messaged her was on the 26th January 2014 and it is soon to be the 26th of January 2015.

It doesn’t seem to me like I have only known Amy for a year – it feels like I have known her for my whole life. I could message her with any problem or upset at any time of the day and she would reply with either something really helpful – or laugh at me (if it isn’t serious). She has also introduced me to my love of ‘MikeAndIke’s which I will be ever grateful for and has even introduced me to her sister who is amazing also. I’ve spent many nights talking to the both of them on Skype, laughing, joking, singing and talking about a time when we will meet – will we be 30,40,50?

What I am pretty much trying to sum up is that I chose the best instagram photo of the millions and millions posted around the world to comment on and I am so so lucky to have someone like Amy in my life!! It has been amazing to know Amy for a year and I hope for many more years to come! Love you Amzz!!

Anyways,

I’m of, Beth x

33 thoughts on “A Friend 3833 Miles Away..

    1. great writing Beth. It’s good to meet a young person who enjoys writing, and reading, obviously.
      From an older blogger, who’s been there, there are threats everywhere, perceived or imagined. distance relationships can be difficult as real and threatening as face to face ones. The skype contact though makes it seem real and immediate and present unlike the net, letters, or texting. keep blogging, discovering, finding maturity and wisdom as the years of experiencing life flow by. I started writing poetry when I was fifteen, out of confusion and searching. You sound like you are more balanced and have direction. good on you mate.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re right, it is usually a good idea to be careful on the net, especially when it comes to meeting people. That being said, I met my man online, in a chat room years ago. Net relationships of any kind can sometimes turn out to be real gems. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Aww man I know that feeling. I have friends from around the world that I have only seen through Skype. You know, that fact sometimes slips my mind with how close you may feel. Just goes to show, friendship is beautiful no matter where the friendship may be. Though you may have only seen them though a screen, they know you more than some sat right next to you. 😀

    Really loving your blog by the way. Keep it up. Look forwards to more posts from you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The internet is just one more way to meet people with whom we have things in common. It’s actually one of the better ways as far as safety goes because you get a chance to know them a lot better than you do when the first time you meet up is face to face. I’ve met some real nutters in face to face life even at innocent gatherings like church socials and then it’s harder to get rid of them that it is online. As long as you are careful, follow common sense safety rules and such, why not?

    Like

  3. So glad you have such a great friend!! Most of my absolute best friends are people I’ve met online and have known for years and years. Yay for new friendships!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Penfriends (which is what we called them in the olden days before the internet!) are wonderful. As you have already skyped you will find the “first meeting” (whenever that is) much easier though 🙂 Keep up the letters, you will treasure and laugh over them in later years in ways you will never be able to do with emails or texts.

    I am at the other end of the spectrum now. Friends I have known since school (some I met when I was only 7) are now scattered around the globe. Real life friends have become penfriends. We still use FB and email, but letters as well. Always some letters.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for taking the time out to visit my blog and leave a comment. I enjoyed reading your writing – you are very talented for such a young writer. Your work is very honest and engaging. A few words of advice – keep on reading, since you can always learn things from other people’s writing, no matter how old you are, and since you are still so young, you have a lot of potential and development ahead of you as a writer.

    I myself had an online friendship with an artist in America, although it slowly died a natural death after a few months and I was particularly excited by it and we were pen friends, so I could bring my love of reading and writing to the letters.

    Speaking as a man known for being short, let me just say that I would have liked to have had your tallness – it’s not a disadvantage, but a benefit.

    Suneel

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nice post. My daughter (40 yrs) has been talking, texting, & visiting a nice person she met on the internet 10 years ago. Long distance friendships can last. Take care though you are still young.
    Paula

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Aw! I want a penpal that I can get candies from and vice versa. I’m so jealous (wink wink), lol.
    This happened to me, but my friend is from America, also.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I think this is awesome. I am the complete opposite of you though. Perhaps it is because my age and my knack for rebellion. I love meeting new people (strangers). The first time I travelled out of this country (U.S.)was to Toronto, Canada last January. I stayed in a hostel because it was cheaper. Soon I came to find that the cheap price isn’t the only thing that makes it attractive. It was full of like-minded travellers between the ages of 18-25. I quickly a French woman, Lae, who took me out with another French man also staying in the hostel. They both showed me places they had discovered which I might not have on my own. And even if I did there’s nothing wrong with good company from time to time.

    Optimistic about having such a great time with my first hostel experience I opted to do it again when I travelled to Cancun, Mexico later in May. Upon doing my Google search I stumbled upon Couchsurfing. I am a very open-minded person and decided to give it a try. I stayed with a host in Cancun, Mexico for two days. I left because things didn’t go so well. (I was not harmed or threatened.) I stayed my next two days in none other than a hostel. Again, I befriended really cool people, one guy, Freddy, who is now my Facebook friend.

    The point of this isn’t to try to get you to change your views. I think it’s great that you take precautions before adding people online. Like you I didn’t want to go to Mexico blind so I added my host on various social networks, took his number to message him on Whatsapp and Skyped with him multiple times before having going to Mexico because I too, wanted to make sure he was real.

    Thanks for this inspiring post, I will now write a similar one about my experiences meeting new people. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I really loved this post! I too have a friend who lives in a different country, except I’m from the US and she lives in Spain. But I completely agree that having an international friend is awesome! I hope you too stay friends for a long time!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

