Being 6 Foot At 16..

Being taller than your own mum when you are only 16 is hard – well at least for me. Ever since I can remember I have been the tallest in my class; the one placed at the back of school photos and have always been the one with the biggest feet.

It is probably obvious that my height has bothered me for a long time and if I am honest I see it as something that will always bother me. The thing that annoys me the most about being tall is when short people say that they would love to be tall, when in reality if they knew all of the negatives I am sure that they would think differently. One of the obvious downfalls of being tall is, of course – buying clothes. And I Β know what you are thinking ‘they have shops for tall people’ yes, but do you know how frustrating it is when you see a pair on jeans that you really like or a nice pair of shoes and they don’t fit? When you go out shopping with your friends and you have to drag them up to the top floor where they sell the ‘tall’ clothes and wait for a shopkeeper to look in the stock rooms for the ‘big’ shoe sizes. I will tell you, it’s annoying!

Another thing? When you are on planes – having to either deal with the fact that you won’t be able to feel your legs for days after the flight or paying for extra leg room. In concerts (yes you can see the band over peoples heads) but people don’t want someone tall infant of them so you end up standing at the back (or being pushed there). Making your friends pretty much run next to you as you take one step for every 5 of theirs. Yes all of these things are annoying but I can just about deal with them, it isn’t like I am unlucky going on a flight or being able to buy clothes. The one thing that I just can’t come to terms with is boys..

I can get used to being the tallest one in my group of friends (or school year for that matter) but when it comes to boys I just think it seems strange for the girl to be the taller one. I mean it isn’t like I have anything against it – it is just, you can never get that feeling of being protected if you are tall. A shorter boy would never be able to wrap his arms around me.. – in my mind it isn’t right.

Going on and on about the negativity of being tall I guess there are some good aspects – being able to see at concerts is a bonus and people do seem to look up to you if you are tall (but with the maturity of a 2 year old I don’t think that happens often!) And I guess that I am reasonably slim which is a great bonus in this day and age of people judging you. I guess that with being tall, it also means that people notice you – not that I am an attention seeker but it does feel good sometimes!!

And to finish it all off – at least I’m not taller than my dad (yet) so at the moment I can get my protective hugs from him! πŸ˜‚

Anyways,

I’m off, Beth x

59 thoughts on “Being 6 Foot At 16..

  1. It totally is about coming to terms with it, I’m 5,2″ and plus size, so I totally know and understand the struggle of having to buy clothes, but at 16 it’s hard, I’ve had years of coming to terms with it, and at 27 I can safely say I am ok with my lot.

    Like

  2. I think it is human nature to wish for what you are not…short vs. tall; curl vs. straight hair… it seems we always seem to think the grass is greener on the other side of the fence.

    I think coming to terms with your own self is the answer, however, it sure isn’t easy looking at all the media influences around us.

    Thank you for sharing. Go forth and embrace your height! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As a guy I can say being taller must be easier than being tall girl. Though I was the shortest guy in my class at 5’10” while the next shortest guy was 6’4″. I have to agree with you, I would have a hard time dating a girl taller than me because I like being able to wrap my arms around her and give her the support I have to offer.

    There are plenty of tall guys out there, you just need to find them.

    Like

  4. Being a 16-year-old that is 5 feet tall, I found this really interesting to read. It’s funny because I’m always complaining about being short, but I’ve never thought about what it must be like to be tall. I really enjoyed reading this because it definitely gave me another perspective to think about the next time I’m wishing I were taller so I can see at a concert.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m tall too, though not as tall as you (5’9″), so I know what you mean about the nuisance of clothes shopping! But really, there are plenty of tall guys out there; I’ve got a family full of them. In fact, I come from a whole nation of them – so that’s my advice: go to Europe, Germany or Holland. Here in Canada, I’m almost always the tallest woman in the room; in Germany, I was just on the tall side of average, and there were usually taller girls than me. Call it Euro-chic!

    Like

  6. I have a tall friend who always talks about these sorts of problems, so while I’m only 5’4″, I can (sort of ;)) sympathize with what you’re saying. My favorite part of being short is actually the fact that most guys are taller than me! However, embrace your tallness…I sometimes wish I had a few extra inches on my height!

    Like

  7. YES. I’m 5’11, and have also always been the tallest in my class (until a couple of years ago, when guys slowly started to shoot up). I TOTALLY agree with the guy thing.. I really want to find a guy who’s taller than me– all the one’s in my class at school are annoying and immature and just overall not for me. Which sucks. But yeah, just gotta wait it out and hope that someday we’ll find the perfect guy who’s the perfect height too πŸ˜‰ I’m taller than both my parents.. so it’s a little sad.. But my brother is finally slightly taller than me so it’s ok. I’ve got a tall buddy in the family. Anyways, thanks for sharing your thoughts on being tall. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to post my thoughts about tallness too sometime soon πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Just think about yourself as being unique. You’ll probably be remembered for a longtime in the years to come. Let your current friends and classmates look back fondly at that tall young girl who always had a smile on her face and positive attitude. Yet, being young, that’s hard to do all the time, but life is what you make it…so make it good!

    Like

  9. As an average height-person (currently 5′ 4″), I can only relate to the “taller than Mom” part. Your situation reminds me of this anime I am currently checking out called “Lovely Complex.” It’s about a really tall girl and a really short boy. It’s a romantic comedy, and I find it pretty sweet so far. If you meet the right person for you, height definitely won’t matter. πŸ™‚

    I enjoyed reading this!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I am a bit taller than most woman and I enjoy being able to reach places where shorties can’t. My brothers and myself are much taller than my mom and we all enjoy being tall even thought there are disadvantages as you say when it comes to seating and clothing.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You are so lucky you’re tall. Me, on the other side, is stuck in 5’4 but it’s okay asians tend to be really short compared to the other nationalities. My height is average here in our place. In your case, 6 ft is really wow. You can be a future beauty queen. *winks*

    Like

  12. It’s so great that you can offer such a clearly described account of your experience being very tall. Although there are many neat things to point out about extra height, it is surely a challenge. too. I realize that at 5’6″ (though sometimes wishing for an extra inch or two) I’m in a very good middle place. However, this is not going to continue – I notice SO many very tall younger women now and you’ll be more and more in the mainstream soon, with the advantage of elegant stature. Thanks for joining my fun – photos and comments about my own collection of true vintage clothing and accessories. That’s where elegance gets to be a real trip!

    Like

  13. Models are tall. So there is beauty in height. Be confident and others will see it as your strength rather than a weakness. We tend to point out things we dislike about ourselves causing others to see them as negatives whereas had we never said anything they may have perceived it as a positive. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I feel tall at 5’5″, but my friends are mostly 5′, and my husband of 20 years is 5’4″ and right now weighs less. My first husband wa 5’3″. Oh well. You have to go with who you enjoy being with. Everything is relative. πŸ™‚ Everything is hard at 16, but the wonderful thing is that you are on a journey, and you will experience things in a way that is uniquely your own. You have a beautiful blog, and I wish you well for a wonderful new year. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Oh how I can identify! I too was six feet tall when I was 12 years old. Same thing, always told to “stand in back” for the class photos and, perhaps the most hurtful: “Are you really 12 years old?” As a matter of fact I was young for my class having skipped kindergarten (my Mother made a mistake and enrolled me in first grade when she should have enrolled me in kindergarten). And he clothes. It wasn’t until I was an adult that I could actually get a pull over sweater that fit me to my wrists. I hated being tall when I was young but now I like it (when I’m old). The irony now is that I used to be 6’4″, now I’m 6’2″ and shrinking.
    Have a great day!
    Ron

    Like

  16. Everyone grows up with their own feelings of inadequacy whether they choose to admit it or not. Being tall is nothing at all to feel awkward about, it’s only a part of what makes you unique and what makes you YOU. By just reading this one blog I can tell you have a great head on your shoulders and you are destined for great things. πŸ™‚ Hang in there and keep on writing, I’ll keep on reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I have always been the short one in my groups of friends. I am 5’4 and even people who are 2 inches taller than me say I am such a shorty. Thankfully, they all end it with ”But that’s cute”. Don’t be ashamed of your height, even if you are taller than average. You can be twice as beautiful as someone who’s ”the perfect height”. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I’m 14 and I’m only 5’4 which Is I guess small for a guy. that’s fine In my country (Philippines) I guess cause Its the average height for us. I only get Insecure when I see foreigners towering over me. Then again being this height does have advantages πŸ˜‰ Your a nice person, I’ll keep reading on πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I’ve been 6′ since the 7th grade….I’m now 44. I had the same feelings and was really pissed that I didn’t have at least one shorter parent! I remember making my 1st boyfriend (if you’d call it that in 7th grade) walk on the curb while I walked on the street so we were the same height! Crazy!!! But I promise, as you get older this one thing about who you are will start to not matter so much:) You’ll roll with the comments and your confidence will be what people notice…not the height:) Take care!!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I took the time to check out your blog…as you gently suggested…and am impressed with your writing, especially considering your age and the short time you’ve been doing this. Beautifully expressive and flowing. In regard to your height, years ago I dated someone taller than me (and my wife is nearly as tall as me now) and was amazed at the stares people gave her. Well, maybe not actually amazed, just pleased. What people saw was a confident woman, someone comfortable in her own skin. Regardless of your height, your confidence, poise and inner nature will be what attracts people to you if you cultivate those characteristics positively. Celebrate your height and love the gifts you’re given.

    Liked by 3 people

  21. I am 6 ft 2″ , and my boys are 6ft6 and 6ft 5. My 16 yr old daughter is 6 ft 3. My husband is about 6 ft . So I can talk with authority! I have brought them up to feel that being tall is an advantage, which it is. It is a family tradition to be in the middle , at the back in school photos and all three would have been miffed if they weren’t . I encouraged them to play sports where being tall is important and this has given them great confidence.Two have played sport at England age group level. Clothes can be a fly in the ointment but on the whole not a problem . I find that what I wear is more interesting than smaller people who go to the same shops and wear the same thing. My daughter is going through the stage of wanting to wear what everyone else is wearing and with clever shopping she’s managed it. At 16, few girls have developed ‘ a style’ but she ll get there eventually. The subject of boys was interesting. My husband is a little smaller than me but he is quietly confident in himself and has never ever said anything about me being taller. We have always been great friends and loved each other and our respective heights have been unimportant. Just thinking about it, if he ‘d been taller than me how tall would our children have been?!!! He is quite happy for me to wear heels because he has no hangups about height, he loves ME. It really isn t how you LOOK together. That’s other peoples problems not yours . Try and turn all those negative perceptions on their heads and get out there.

    Like

  22. Reading back my comment I realise that my comment about not knowing your style at 16 was quite patronising, sorry. I think that being 16 now is very much harder than when I was 16. There is so much more focus on how you look. When I was 16 there were lots of fashion styles and friends experimented with weird and wonderful looks. It takes a brave person to dress differently now . At my daughters prize giving at school the general fashion was jeans shirt/ jumper apart from one girl who was wearing a sequined short dress with a black jacket . She also had, shock horror, a short blonde bob hairstyle, not the usual long hair no fringe look. She looked stunning and she walked out there with confidence. Yes, confidence is the key, wether you feel if or fake it is an important part of any look

    Liked by 2 people

  23. I really enjoyed this post, really interesting and funny, in a moany kind of way. My type of humour, less it wasn’t supposed to be funny in which case I sincerely apologise. Anyway, I’m the other way around. People tend to feel sorry for me because I’m ‘only’ 5″1. I often hear “aww you are soooo short, do you wish you was taller?” but in all honesty I am actually really happy with my height πŸ˜€ Well, I better be because apparently no-one else is happy with it, except short guys who think they have a chance with me πŸ˜‰

    Like

  24. I have so much to say on this.. Its refreshing to hear your frustrations but also the positives that you see from being tall. I am only 5′ 6″ but my son was taller than me by 13, and is now almost 16 and now is 6’2″. He calls me “shorty” My daughter who is only 10 will in the next few years be taller than me. Her shoe size is already a size 81/2 in women’s. She has become to see the difficulty of not being able to fit in her friends clothes/shoes or have to shop in the women’s section but she is still a child. As a mother it is hard to see your child struggle. Know that you are beautiful the way you are is what I have always tried to teach my kids…

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Ugh, in all honestly, I am going peanut butter, jelly on you right now (haha, so corny but whatevs XD). Because, well, my dream is to walk down the runway and with my height, It might as well just always stay a dream T_T.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. love this! im very small and always listen to everyone loving being tall and they tell me its a bad thing to be short. like being tall is the only option. so its soo nice to see someone whose tall mention the downsides to it. theres always a little bit of bad in the good and a litttle bit of good in the bad. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

